What does the Canadian government do?

Three

The Canadian (or federal) government is in charge of things like: what counts as a crime or not; national security; Indigenous issues; and citizenship

and immigration issues.

JUDICIAL

BRANCH

The judicial branch is a series of independent courts

that interpret the laws

passed by the other

two branches. The

highest court in

Canada is the Supreme Court of

Canada.

CANADA

Three branches work together to govern Canada: the Executive, Legislative, and Judicial branches.

YOU

EXECUTIVE BRANCH

The executive branch is the decision making branch. It is made up of the Governor General, the Prime Minister, and the Cabinet. This is the branch that proposes laws and that makes decisions about how to run the country.

GOVERNMENT DEPARTMENTS

CABINET

Members of cabinet are heads (Ministers) of government departments.

PRIME MINISTER

1



GOVERNMENT OF CANADA

YOUR MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT

Members of Parliament (MPs), are supposed to represent YOU when they vote on laws in the House of Commons.

There is an MP who represents the area that you live in - you can find out who that MP is on the government's website.

LEGISLATIVE BRANCH: HOUSE OF COMMONS AND SENATE

This branch is also called Parliament.
It's the law-making branch of government.

When the executive branch proposes a law, it has to be approved by Parliament in order to become a law.